top of page

In & Out Decisions (not burgers)

How do you decide on whether or not you want an inside room, a window, or a balcony??!!! Easy... follow this simple guide to help you narrow down the basics!

Inside:

It’s cheap. It’s DARK! And sometimes more quiet. Let’s hit on the cheap part real quick. Yeah look.... we all want to fly first class but most of us can’t afford it..... or justify it technically.. I would MUCH rather book a trip that I can afford and enjoy myself in an inside room RATHER THAN NOT GO AT ALL!! You only sleep in there anyways so who really cares? You. You are the only one who cares. Life is short; so fill your phone up with photos of a good time... (btw.... I don’t have any photos of me having a good time in my room... {well}... you get the idea. All of your memories and photos *mostly* take place NOT in the room.

Back to the “Dark” & “Quiet” part.... I remember the very first cruise I was on was in an inside room. First night. Drank a lot... danced a LOT... came back and slept a lot like a fat-n-happy hibernating new born baby bear. Didn’t wake up until I just woke up naturally and was like.... “ah ,, what time is it?”  “OMG NOON WHAAAAT”

Why you ask.... That’s because there is NO natural sunlight in that room. So it stays as dark as night when you turn those cabin lights out! Bonus... usually less noise because you don’t have pesky balcony neighbors moving those damn chairs across the deck at 3:57 am. (Who can relate to me there?? LOL)

Window/Ocean View Rooms:

Honestly, what’s the point? If you are scared to not be able to see the ocean then go for it, but usually it’s more money for a room on a lower deck... this is the Super Size “upsale” of the cruise ship industry. Frankly.... I don’t want to spend more money just to sleep in a room with a window that I block out with a curtain at night. So whoop... whilst I bath me-self and put on some shorts I open the curtains and take a big whiff of the air in my room. I gaze out for a few seconds and then realize I am headed to the pool where I can see AAAAAAND smell the ocean. Then POOF... I’m outta there. Waste of money = Ocean View Rooms. Just sayin’

Balcony Rooms:

$SOLD$

Yes I said it. If you got the cash... spend it here... and spend it early (meaning book early with your travel agent). The room choices go quickly and the better the balcony, the better the experience. If you ARE gonna spend the money on a balcony remember they just about all cost the same, so you might as well get the best balcony early on.

Keeping in mind the downsides (as already mentioned), there’s no better way to spend a couple of hours but on your own little porch of tranquility... the ocean, the sun, the breeze, the sound of the crashing waves spraying off of the bow of the ship....(Damn good naps I swear) it’s just plain excellent.

I like people, and sometimes.... eh... I don’t like annoying people... so it’s a huge deal to have a place that’s “outside” that’s ONLY YOUR space!! That in theory is worth a lot on such a big vessel!!

Another notable consideration.... I just had a friend look at booking a cruise to Alaska. He has two kids and wanted 2 connecting balcony rooms that way he could have his own bathroom basically. ....  .. $$$ Think $$$ His trip is now DOUBLE the price because he wants 2 rooms. Alaska is already expensive.... but doubling that??? Just for another commode?? No way. He is opting NOT to go because it’s “Soooooooo expeeeeeensive”. I’m like really dude? I mean I like toilet time too but I’m NOT willing to blow off a cruise to Alaska JUST because I need my own crapper. Bottom line here is in 10 years the kids will look back and remember the trip they took with their parents to Alaska.... not that they didn’t go because their dad didn’t want to share a toilet. (Brett if you read this sorry buddy !! LOL)

This is were you sacrifice a little to be able to make the trip happen. ((Sounds familiar right?? ;)

Life is really too short not to turn yourself into a modern day Buffet Viking...... SO STAY “CRUISE-THIRSTY” MY FRIENDS!



39 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page